When Market America announced at our National Convention that social media is the future, I rolled my eyes and thought “what next”.  Am I going to be lost in the dust or get on board and learn.  I made the commitment to myself that I would learn all I could about Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Word Press, Social Media and it’s marketing impact and take action to do a little each day.

The younger generation, with their texting fingers seem to grasp this much quicker.  After 14 years of networking, the first two in which I did not even own a computer (now I can’t be without) I realized that this is a HUGE learning curve and I’m willing to bite the bullet and not let anyone or anything stop me from learning as much as I can.

I have a Social Media Coach (Brian at #InnovaTechnologies) guiding me through many weeks of training.  He’s been very patient with me, even when I ask the same questions over and over.  I’ve come a long way as I now know what a “Tweet” is, even though the Pufferfish sometimes eat it.

Early on, at one of my first conventions, JR Ridinger, Pres. of Market America stated that there will be a time when you can order anything on line and get paid back in commissions.  We all thought, how can that be and now the time has come.

The future is now and I intend to spend the rest of my life there.  For those of us (60 and over) this is not the time to give up, it’s the time to fight back, get mad if you have to, go for it and just have fun.  Meet new friends, share #MarketAmerica and enjoy learning as much as you can about Social Media while you’re earning money.

My grandchildren will someday say, “That’s My Grandma!” she ate the elephant one bite at a time.

Leave a comment